Search sponsored by Coast Marketplace

South County Russell wins Park and Rec vote; fire levy passes

South County election results

Published on May 17, 2017 9:26AM

Last changed on May 17, 2017 10:08AM

With a combination of vacancies, a death and a retirement, each of the five board position seats was open. Other directors in the district, Michael Hinton in Position 3, Jeremy Mills in Position 2; Edward Hassan in Position 4 and Alan Evans in Position 5 all won seats unopposed.

District board members serve four-year terms. Hassan and Evans, who filled unexpired terms, will serve two years and could run for re-election in 2019.

Seaside Fire

Seaside voters endorsed Local Option 4-186, approving $2 million over five years for fire equipment and personnel, to be split three ways: for self-contained breathing apparatus; a new ladder truck; and funding for the department’s training and safety officer. The measure passed by 72 percent.

Cannon Beach Fire

Cannon Beach Rural Fire and Protection District incumbents Garry Smith and Mark Mekenas both ran unopposed and will remain on the board. Smith and Mekenas will serve two-year terms.

Smith, a firefighter with 35 years experience and six years on the board of directors, won with 258 votes.

Mekenas, owner of Cannon Beach Surf and the Beach Store since 1998, filled a vacant board seat in 2015 and won with 259 votes.


Share and Discuss


User Comments