Meet some of Oregon's leading authors and hear them read selections from their award-winning books as the Oregon Book Awards Author Tour visits the Cannery Pier Hotel Friday, Feb. 3.

The free event begins at 7:30 p.m. and features finalists of the 19th annual Oregon Book Awards, including Kassten Alonso, finalist in fiction for "Kore: A Romance" (Hawthorne Books), Maura Conlon-McIvor, finalist in creative nonfiction for "FBI Girl" (Warner Books), Kathleen Dean Moore, winner in creative nonfiction for "The Pine Island Paradox" (Milkweed Editions) and Michael Strelow, finalist in fiction for "The Greening of Ben Brown" (Hawthorne Books). The authors' books will be available for purchase.

Strelow teaches English at Willamette University in Salem. Moore is Distinguished Professor of Philosophy at Oregon State University, where she directs the Spring Creek Project for Ideas, Nature and the Written Word. Conlon-McIvor's book was recently released in paperback as "She's All Eyes."

The Oregon Book Awards is a program of Literary Arts, a statewide, nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting the importance of language as a means to express, explore and experience the world in which we live. Other programs of Literary Arts are Oregon Literary Fellowships, Poetry Downtown, Poetry In Motion®, Portland Arts & Lectures, Writers in the Schools and Delve: Readers' Seminars. For more information, contact Barbara Verchot at (503) 227-2583 or visit

'Core: A Romance,' by Kassten Alonso.

'The Greening of Ben Brown,' by Michael Strelow.The Oregon Book Awards Author Tour, which brings Oregon Book Awards finalists to public libraries and independent bookstores throughout the state, is sponsored by the National Endowment for the Arts and the Oregon Cultural Trust, investing in Oregon's arts, humanities and heritage.

Local support comes from the Cannery Pier Hotel, Lucy's Books, the Astoria Public Library and Florence Sage/Clatsop Community College.

'FBI Girl,' by Maura Conlon-McIvor.

'The Pine Island Paradox,' by Kathleen Dean Moore.