American Association of University Women elects officers

Submitted PhotoPictured, the 2017 officers of the Astoria branch of the American Association of University Women. From left, Judith Mahoney, Janice Horning, Dee Dee Deacon, Sara Meyer, Pamela Alegria and Janet Weidman. Not pictured, Monica VanSteenberg.

The Astoria branch of the American Association of University Women (AAUW) elected officers for 2017. They are co-presidents Sara Meyer and Janice Horning; Monica VanSteenberg is vice-president of Programs; Dee Dee Deacon is treasurer; and Pamela Alegria is secretary. Judith Mahoney is the new editor of AAUW columns.

The Astoria branch of the AAUW, organized in 1927, will celebrate its 90th year in 2017. Sixty years ago the branch hosted the first Historic Homes tour for the first Sister City Exchange, and since its beginnings has hosted panels, forums, discussions and study groups on public education, civics, health and equity issues. 

Each year AAUW helps coordinate the Women Interested in Going to School (WINGS) free conference, whose purpose is to show women how to overcome barriers to education. During the summer, AAUW assists with the library summer reading program.

AAUW’s Reader Theater raises money for scholarships for women who want to attend Clatsop Community College. This year’s recipients of the scholarships are Rebekah L. Cave ($1,000), Darby J. Cullen ($1,000), Liliana V. Diaz Preciado ($1,850) and Alex A. Lyon ($500).

For information, contact Sara Meyer at 503-325-7969.