Lewis & Clark Fire and Rescue honors personnel and volunteers

Submitted PhotoPictured, members of Lewis & Clark Fire and Rescue who received awards at the annual banquet. Standing, from left, David Wolfram, Christina Herndon, Jen Zamon and Flint Helligso. Kneeling, Adam Miller and Brandon Hall. Not pictured, Travis Caulder.

Lewis & Clark Fire and Rescue recently held its annual awards banquet at the Uptown Café. After a social hour, buffet and video presentation of last year’s activities, Assistant Chief Klyde Thompson and Fire Chief Jeff Golightly announced the awards for last year.

Receiving Firefighter of the Year award was Jen Zamon, who was recognized for her dedication and contributions to the department. Officer of the Year was given to Capt. Flint Helligso for his leadership, and he was appointed as Training Officer last year. The Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Person award recognized Christina Herndon for her effort and responses to medical emergencies. Brandon Hall received the Responder of the Year award for responding to the most calls last year.

Assistant Chief Thompson explained that volunteers are recognized for each five-year increment that they are active department members. The Years of Service awards were given to Travi Caulder with 10 years; David Wolfgram with 20 years of service; and Adam Miller, who completed 25 years as a firefighter. Chief Golightly said he appreciates the time commitment it takes for training weekly and responding to emergencies for so many years, and to the spouses who support the volunteers.