Seaside Volunteer Fire and Rescue Association held their annual awards banquet Saturday, Jan. 24, at the Best Western Motel in Seaside. Retired Fire Chief Jim Puckett acted as master of ceremonies.

Firefighters and their families enjoyed dinner, a slide presentation of memorable 2003 moments, humorous "gag" awards and live music. The group enjoys boogying as well as fighting fires and saving lives.

Award recipients are:

Emergency Medical Service Provider of the Year: Capt. Mike Smith (13 years of service)

Fire Officer of the Year: Bat. Chief Joe Sopko (23 years of service)

Firefighter of the Year: Pat Spillman (12 years of service)

Service awards recipients are:

Juan Campos, five years; Joe Gilmore, five years; and Capt. Donald Beck, 10 years.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.