ILWACO, Wash. - Washington residents will be voting in the four-way race for Ilwaco Port commissioner in the primary election Tuesday.

Dick Watrous, 81, has been District 2 commissioner for two years. He was appointed to replace Paul Polillo who resigned. Watrous is a retired maintenance supervisor from Crown Zellerbach at the Camas, Wash., mill, who was previously a leader at the Port of Camas-Washougal.

Three contenders are challenging him for a six-year term.

They are:

Dave Nichols, 51, who operates the Port of Ilwaco's fuel dock and has been a longtime sport and commercial fisherman;

Edwin Erola, 51, of Chinook, who has operated Edwing Boat Inc. in Chinook for 20 years and was a port engineer in Alaska;

John O'Phelan, 62, an executive at ShoreBank Pacific in Ilwaco with a background in finance who used to operate a charter boat.

District 1 Commissioner Dick Siefert, of Long Beach, is unopposed for election to a four-year unexpired term.

A Long Beach City Council race has drawn four contenders. Contesting the primary are Jerry Phillips, Jonathan Woodward, Diana Tehrani and John Bageant.

In the city of Raymond, the mayoral race features Todd Stephens, Bill Wilson, Bob Jungar and Michael 'Hawk" Runyon.


Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.