North Coast residents will be determining bond issues for a new Clatsop County Jail and a rebuilt Clatsop Community College Tuesday.

Astoria voters are being asked to support a street repair levy, while Warrenton is voting for a second time on funds to operate the Community Library. There are fire department levies on the Seaside and Cannon Beach ballots and Seaside is also voting to renew a schools levy.

Clatsop County Commission seats are on the ballot. Incumbent Richard Lee faces Janet Miltenberger. For the other position, Lylla Gaebel appears alone on the ballot, having won the primary. But defeated incumbent Tim Gannaway is mounting a write-in campaign.

There are three mayors' races in the county and Cannon Beach is guaranteed a new mayor. Dave Rouse and Karoyln Adamson are seeking to take over from Laurel Hood. In Astoria, veteran Willis Van Dusen has two opponents, Mike McCusker and newcomer Sharon Matzen. In Seaside, incumbent Rosemary Baker-Monaghan faces a challenge from City Councilman Don Larson.

Two Astoria City Council seats are contested. Incumbent Blair Henningsgaard faces Marcia Fenske. In the other race, incumbent Bob Heilman faces three opponents: Jim Wilkins, Bruce Conner and Joyce Compere.

In Seaside, Don McKay and Marti Wajc are contesting a City Council seat.

Warrenton has a crowded ballot in one race for City Commission. Incumbent Bill Harris faces four challengers: Gil Gramson, Melvin Jasmin, Vince Williams and Frida Fraunfelder. In the other race, incumbent Lisa Lamping faces Dick Hellberg.

For Cannon Beach City Council, Carmen Swigert is the one incumbent seeking re-election. The two top vote-getters running at-large will win the seats. Others who filed are Mike Morgan, Tevis Dooley Jr. and Charleen Strauch. Another candidate, Mark Mekenas, withdrew.

Gearhart's two City Council races have incumbent Walter Daggatt facing Chuck Schluter and incumbent Dianne Widdop against Larry Meyers

The one federal race with North Coast implications features two-term incumbent U.S. Rep. David Wu, D-Ore., against GOP challenger Jim Greenfield and Libertarian Beth King.

State Sen. Joan Dukes, D-Svensen, is opposed in District 16 by Don Fell from the GOP and Libertarian Helen McDaniel.

In the state House, two incumbent Democrats face challenges. In District 31, Betsy Johnson of Scappoose, whose district includes Astoria, is facing Bob Ekstrom of the Constitution Party and Mervin Arnold, an Independent. Elaine Hopson of Tillamook, whose District 32 includes south Clatsop County, is challenged by Joe Meyer.

North Coast voters will also be helping to determine 12 Oregon ballot measures.

In Washington's Pacific County, U.S. Rep. Brian Baird, D-Vancouver, is being challenged by GOP state Sen. Joseph Zarelli.

Democratic incumbents face contests to retain their state House seats in District 19. Brian Hatfield is challenged by Republican Mike Kayser while Mark Doumit faces the GOP's Paul Waadevig.

Pacific County races include Lisa Olsen, a Republican, against Bruce Walker, a Democrat, for county assessor; incumbent County Commissioner Pat Hamilton, a Democrat, against Republican Wayne Estes; and Democratic primary winner Tracy Shawa against Republican Brady Turner for treasurer. Candidates for clerk, prosecuting attorney, sheriff and auditor are unopposed.

There are five statewide ballot measures in Washington plus two contested elections for state Supreme Court justices.