A Public Boat Safety Course will start at 7 p.m. Tuesday at the Arts Building at Clatsop Community College. The class will be for eight weeks from 7 to 9 p.m. Tuesdays. There will be six weeks of lectures and demonstrations, one week for review and the final week for an exam. The book for the course will be $35 - couples and friends can share the book; and $12.50 for a divider and plotter needed for the course.
The course will be taught by experienced boaters and qualified instructors from the Lower Columbia Power Squadron and members of Flotilla 64 U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary. The course meets the standards of the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators.
Participants completing the class will be certified and can apply for the Oregon and Washington State Boater Education Card. Currently in Oregon, all boaters under age 45 operating a powerboat greater than 10 horsepower must have a card. Starting in January, all boaters younger than 50 must have a card.
For more information about the class and state law requirements, contact Dennis Johnson 325-5311 or Ron Collman 861-1368.