The About Boating Safety Course, a public safe boating class leading to a boater education card, will be taught in two sessions from 9 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. March 14 and March 21 in the second floor training room at Englund Marine Supply, 29 Portway Drive.
The cost for the course is $30, which includes the course book and a CD of all of the course materials. A presentation, "Local Knowledge," will be a part of the course, and it will cover intimate knowledge about hazards on the Lower Columbia, including the Columbia River Bar.
Mandatory boater education is now law. In 2009, all Oregon boaters need a boater education card to operate or supervise youth operating a boat greater than 10 horsepower. Youth ages 12 to 15 operating a boat of 0 to 10 horsepower and all personal watercraft operators need a card.
The boater education card will save money on boat insurance. Boaters can be cited and fined $97 for operating watercraft without the card.
The state of Washington will issue a card to Washington residents completing the course. Their law states that all boaters under the age of 25 years old must have a card beginning in 2009.
The National Association of State Boating Law Administrators approves this course, which will be taught by experienced boaters and qualified instructors from the Lower Columbia Power Squadron and U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary Buoy 10 Flotilla 64.
To preregister, and for information, contact Ron Collman at (503) 861-1368 or register on the day of the class.