SEASIDE - Seaside Elks Lodge 1748 installed its 2010-11 officers March 20. Dennis Brodigan was installed as exalted ruler. His motto for the coming year is "Discover Elks."

Awards presented by outgoing Exalted Ruler Jan Jackson included the Citizen of the Year award to James Casterline for his involvement in community activities and the Officer of the Year award to Dave Darling for his volunteer hours and support.

The Elk of the Year award, the highest honor the lodge can bestow, was presented to Hugh Kerwin. He is a past exalted ruler, past district deputy, current scholarship chairman, secretary/treasurer of the Past Exalted Rulers Organization and charitable records volunteer. He worked on the Hoop Shoot, Soccer Shoot, Jazz Festival and Oktoberfest and attended seminars, clinics and the Oregon Elks State Convention.

The Elks is a fraternal organization. Membership is by application. For information, call the Seaside Lodge (503) 738-6651.