Knappa senior John Evans was one of two players honored as the Class 2A/1A Player of the Year this week as part of the 2002 All-State baseball team.

Evans, a pitcher/infielder for the Loggers, shared the award with Michael McCabe of Heppner, while Santiam Christian's Matt Nosack was named Coach of the Year.

Evans hit .567 this year, with 10 home runs and 60 runs batted in.

There were three Warrenton players selected to the first team - senior catcher Kyle Johnson, along with senior outfielder Adam Neahring and junior designated hitter Tyler McGrorty.

Named to the second team was Warrenton senior first baseman Jeff Pike, with Warrior sophomore second baseman Zach Gantenbein taking third team honors.

Warrenton senior Dan Gates, who missed much of the season with a back injury, was selected as one of four pitchers to the honorable mention squad, along with Knappa senior outfielder Jesse Brockey, Warrenton senior outfielder Andy Horn and Logger senior utility player Dan Green.

First TeamP-Michael McCabe, Sr., Heppner

P-Jared Adams, Sr., Culver

P-Andrew Renyer, Sr., Umpqua Valley Chr.

C-Kyle Johnson, Sr., Warrenton

C-Brandon Webb, Jr., Monroe

1B-Austin Highberger, Jr., Regis

IF-Eric Rogers, Sr., Sheridan

IF-Todd Shaffer, Sr., Condon

IF-Stefan Matheny, Sr., Heppner

IF-John Evans, Sr., Knappa

OF-Grant Jones, Sr., Corbett

OF-Adam Neahring, Sr., Warrenton

OF-Craig Norton, Sr., Colton

OF-Jared Hiebert, Jr., Salem Academy

DH-Mike Hagman, Jr., Culver

DH-Tyler McGrorty, Jr., Warrenton

Util-Jared McCormick, Jr., Salem Academy

Second TeamP-Ryan Hughes, Sr., Crow

P-Jason Dady, Sr., Glendale

P-Jarad Mitchell, Sr., Condon

P-Dearl Kite, Sr., Nyssa

C-Philip Hawley, Sr., Amity

C-Ryan Owens, Sr., Glendale

1B-Jeff Pike, Sr., Warrenton

IF-Travis Lulay, Sr., Regis

IF-Casey Smith, Sr., Alsea

IF-Jeremy Taylor, Sr., Glendale

IF-Jake Foster, Sr., Wahtonka

OF-Caleb Kearns, Jr., Dayton

OF-Pat Flory, Jr., Monroe

OF-Travis Bellamy, Sr., Heppner

OF-Travis Sapp, Sr., Nyssa

DH-Trevor Wright, Sr., Westside Chr

Util-Nathan DeBest, Sr., Nestucca

Third TeamP-Erick Finnell, Sr., Nestucca

P-Michael Nelson, Jr., Regis

P-Paul Donahoe, Jr., Lost River

C-Randy Carnine, Sr., Condon

C-Kelly Paullus, Sr., Heppner

1B-Todd Grassman, Sr., Yoncalla

1B-Brad Johnson, Jr., Lost River

IF-Zach Gantenbein, So., Warrenton

IF-Ryan Porter, So., Santiam Christian

IF-Brandon Fahlman, Jr., Salem Academy

IF-Tyler Mead, Sr., Gervais

IF-Jake Perry, Jr., Pilot Rock

OF-Aaron Joseph, Sr., Colton

OF-Andy Johnson, Sr., Kennedy

OF-Mike Woodfin, Jr., Crow

OF-Stephen Nielson, Sr., Central Linn

DH-Jeremy Taylor, Sr., North Douglas

Util-Warren Brewer, Jr., Central Linn

Honorable MentionPitchers: Dan Gates, Sr., Warrenton; Travis Cornwell, Sr., Willamina; Kyle Beilke, Sr., Gervais; Dollen Stroup, Sr., Joseph.

Catchers: Daniel Weis, So., Regis; Shuichi Masuda, Jr., Portland Lutheran; Trevor Redfox, Jr., Chiloquin.

First Base: Dustin Johnson, Jr., Willamina.

Infielders: Cory Hyson, Sr., Knappa; Jim Craig, Sr., Mohawk; Rick Shaw, Sr., Yoncalla; Paul Willeford, Sr., Umpqua Valley Christian; Craig Schofield, Sr., Riddle.

Outfielders: Jesse Brockey, Sr., Knappa; Andy Horn, Sr., Warrenton; Takumi Furuichi, So., Sheridan; Joey Cavaner, Sr., Umpqua Valley Christian.

Utility: Dan Green, Sr., Knappa; Jeff Cloud, Sr., Culver.