The Astoria election filing held no surprises for the positions of mayor, Ward 1 and Ward 3.

With Mayor Willis Van Dusen’s retirement impending, Arline LaMear and Larry Taylor will campaign for his seat on the City Council.

Councilor Karen Mellin is also stepping down, allowing Cindy Price to run uncontested for Ward 3. Marco Davis filed early on, but then withdrew citing family issues.

For Ward 1, the seat currently held by LaMear, has George McCartin and Zetty Nemlowill striving to earn the most votes.

Election need-to-knows

Last day to register: Oct. 14

Out-of-state ballots mailed: Oct. 6

Regular ballots mailed: Oct. 15 to 17

Last day to return ballots: 8 p.m. Nov. 4

Ballots must be dropped off at designated sites or the County Clerk’s Office at 820 Exchange St., Astoria.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.