TILLAMOOK - Small communities in Tillamook County elected newcomers to key posts Tuesday.

In the race for Manzanita mayor, Hugh McIsaac, a retired contract mediator, edged out Walt Locke, a banker. McIsaac will replace Joyce Raker, who is stepping down.

"I'm so glad I won and I think Mr. Locke is a very fine person and I hope to work with him in making our city better," McIsaac said. "The first step is just to maintain Manzanita the way it is."

McIsaac said Manzanita is a unique community with a library that was built by volunteers and has a wonderful small-town feel.

While he wants to prevent Manzanita from becoming "another Cannon Beach," McIsaac wants to work with others in the region, including the cities of Wheeler and Nehalem. He said he will try to get more money from Tillamook County. McIsaac said Manzanita residents pay high taxes to the county and do not have any representation.

"Our roads need help," McIsaac said.

His wife, Chris McIsaac, was on the City Council for seven years.

"That's the 'Hillary' factor," McIsaac said.

Incumbent Reet Vaga lost a bid to return to the Manzanita City Council, which had two vacancies. Voters chose Tom Wilkey and Judd Burrow, both new to the scene.

In the Wheeler mayoral race, Richard Hendricks beat Rebecca Wells Painter. He replaces Sandy Douma, who gave up the gavel. Virgil Staben, James Neilson and Paul Russo and incumbent Juana Del Handy will serve on the Wheeler City Council. Incumbent Lou Stine lost her bid to stay on the council. Bill Mullen, Ken Thompson and Thomas Moffitt also ran.

In Garibaldi, Everett Brown was unopposed in his re-election bid for mayor. The City Council, which has two seats vacated by Bev Merrill and Marv Evans, will see Terry Kandle and Suzanne McCarthy move into the jobs.

For Nehalem mayor, City Council member Shirley Kalkhoven was unopposed, taking over from Lee Dillard. Incumbent Dale Stockton, who serves as president of the City Council, and Daniel Modrell, a member of the Planning Commission, were the only two to file for the two Nehalem City Council seats.

Bay City incumbent Shaena Peterson was unopposed for mayor. In a close City Council race, Sharon Stafford and two incumbents, Teresa Gaffney and John Gettman, edged out Velma Reid to win the three seats.

In Rockaway Beach, appointed mayor Lisa Phipps was unopposed for election. By a wide margin, Terry Watts walked away with a City Council seat. Ruth Daugherty, an appointed incumbent, also won. Also running were Steve Orr, Shem Bleckman and John Knipe.

For Tillamook County offices, incumbent Republican County Commissioner Charles Hurliman in Position 1 won a challenge by Sue Cameron. For Position 2, GOP candidate Mark Labhart, a retired forester, was unopposed. He will replace Paul Hanneman.

Two nonpartisan county officials were unopposed for re-election, Clerk Tassi O'Neil and Sheriff Todd Anderson.


Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.