Oregon criminal justice officials say a new piece of legislation should crack down on child sex trafficking across the state.
Senate Bill 673 passed the Oregon House and Senate at the end of June.
Currently, Oregon is one of only nine states where it is NOT a felony to purchase sex from a minor.
The Mail Tribune newspaper reports that as laws have gotten tougher in neighboring California and Washington, the practice started increasing in Oregon.
Under Oregon's new law, adults can be charged with a felony if they have -- or attempt -- a paid sex act with a child under the age of 18, or a law enforcement officer who is posing as a minor.
Penalties include 30 days in jail, a $10,000 fine and a requirement to attend sex offender treatment programs.
A judge may also require that person to register as a sex offender.
This story originally appeared on Oregon Public Broadcasting.