The polls closed at 8 p.m. today with Clatsop County voters eagerly awaiting first reports on the Board of Commissioners' races and to see who will be the county's new third Circuit Court judge.

Turnout may be low unless there was a late influx of votes. As of Monday, 7,886 ballots, 38 percent, had been turned in.

The Board of Commissioners is guaranteed a new look Jan. 1. That "look" will be resolved, at least in part, tonight.

Click on this Web site, throughout the night for updated details of elections results as they come in to The Daily Astorian's newsroom in Astoria.

With Lylla Gaebel and Helen Westbrook not filing again, two newcomers are guaranteed on the five-member Board of Commissioners.

The contenders for Gaebel's District 1 seat are Jeff Hazen and Mike Beketic.

Four candidates, Russ Earl, John R. Benson, Ann Samuelson and John Dunzer, are seeking to take over from Westbrook in District 5. If no one achieves a clear majority, the top two vote-getters will face off Nov. 7.

The other seat sees incumbent District 3 commissioner Richard Lee seeking re-election against challenger Cindy Price.

Four candidates are seeking the new judge's position, with the winner taking office in January. Contenders are Michael Dooney, Don Haller, Cindee Matyas and Mary Ann Murk. Again, if there is no clear winner, the top two will advance to the November ballot. The winner takes office in January.

Three measures are on the ballot.

Measure 4-113: a five-year countywide property tax levy to keep the Clatsop County Fairgrounds open;

Measure 4-114: an advisory vote for Gearhart City Council asking, "Should the city grant a 99-year lease to the Chautauqua Center Association for a cultural, arts and community center?"

Measure 4-115: a $10-million bond in Warrenton to pay for the wastewater treatment plant, the second attempt to get a bond passed. This measure needed a 50-percent turnout to validate.

Josh Marquis also appeared on the ballot - alone, as he filed unopposed for another term as Clatsop County District Attorney.

In the District 1 congressional race, incumbent Democrat David Wu is in a primary race with Shantu Shah, Alexa Lewis and Pavel Goberman. The winner will face Republican Derrick Kitts in November.

The state senator and representatives from the North Coast on the ballot all will advance to the general election because they attracted no primary opponents. All the incumbents are Democrats. In November, state Sen. Betsy Johnson will face Don Fell. Rep. Brad Witt will face Mike Kocher, while Rep. Deborah Boone will face Norm Myers.

Statewide, voters were narrowing the governor's race to two finalists.

Republicans Kevin Mannix, Ron Saxton and Jason Atkinson are front-runners in the governor's race. W. Ames Curtright, David W. Beem, Bob Leonard Forthan, William E. Spidal and Gordon Leitch also appear on the GOP ballot.

The Democratic race features Gov. Ted Kulongoski against Jim Hill and Pete Sorenson. An independent, state Sen. Ben Westlund, adds to the interest.

Jack Roberts, Virginia L. Linder and W. Eugene (Gene) Hallman were competing for a seat on the Oregon Supreme Court. All other Oregon state judicial seats have candidates who were elected unopposed.

Susan Castillo, the nonpartisan state superintendent of public instruction, faced a challenge from Deborah Andrews. Dan Gardner was unopposed for re-election as state labor commissioner.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.