GEARHART - With two positions on the Gearhart City Council will be up for election this fall, city officials remind residents contemplating a run that the final filing deadline is Aug. 27.

The four-year terms for two citywide, at-large positions will end in December: Position 1, held by Walter Daggatt, and Position 3, held by Dianne Widdop.

Widdop has confirmed plans to seek a third term on the council. Daggatt has not yet declared whether he plans to run for a second term.

City Administrator Dennis McNally has said filing information is available at City Hall, 698 Pacific Way. Prospective candidates must have lived at least six months within city limits.

Those interested must obtain five signatures from residents who are registered voters in the city as part of the application process with Clatsop County. "I'm trying to encourage people to bring (application materials and petitions) to me by 5 p.m. Aug. 26," McNally said.

A five-member council serves Gearhart, which has approximately 995 residents within city limits. In addition to Widdop and Daggatt, the board includes Mayor Kent Smith and councilors Geri Gideon and Ed Tice.

Tice was appointed last month to complete the four-year term of former councilor Jane Shehane, who stepped down when moving outside city limits.