Seaside all-league players and coach

Seaside coach Bill Westerholm, center, with two of his all-league seniors — Chase Januik and Payton Westerholm.

In a season with co-league champions, the Banks and Seaside boys basketball teams shared awards for the league’s players of the year, defensive players of the year and coaches of the year.

Not surprisingly, all five starters for both the Braves and Gulls were selected to the Cowapa boys all-league team, as voted on by the league’s coaches and released last week.

Seaside senior Chase Januik and Banks senior Blake Gobel were named as the players of the year, while seniors Duncan Thompson of Seaside and Dakota Bunn of Banks were selected as the defensive players of the year.

Bill Westerholm of Seaside and Marcus Roche of Banks were the coaches of the year.

Joining Januik on the first team were senior teammate Payton Westerholm and juniors Ryan Hague and Beau Johnson. Thompson was named honorable mention.

Senior Ian Hunt was Astoria’s lone selection to the first team, while Astoria junior Isaac Brockman was named honorable mention.

Gary Henley is a sports reporter for The Daily Astorian. Contact him at 503-861-8493 or

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.