Knappa’s Takalo is latest Logger MVP

Knappa's Eli Takalo picked up another Player of the Year honor, as the junior quarterback was named the Northwest League's Offensive MVP.

It’s a long list, and Eli Takalo is the most recent Knappa Logger to earn Northwest League Player of the Year honors, as the junior quarterback was voted as the league’s best player on offense.

Neah-Kah-Nie senior Tristan Bennett was named Defensive Player of the Year, and the Pirates’ Chris Bennett was selected Coach of the Year, for leading Neah-Kah-Nie to the league title.

As always, Knappa had numerous first-team, second-team and honorable mention selections, as did Warrenton, in the Warriors’ first year as a member of the 2A league.

Knappa players took 17 all-league spots, but only three of those positions were filled by seniors.


Northwest All-League

Offensive Player of the Year: Eli Takalo, Knappa

Defensive Player of the Year: Tristan Bennett, Neah-Kah-Nie

Coach of the Year: Chris Bennett, Neah-Kah-Nie

First Team Offense

QB: Eli Takalo, Jr., Knappa

RB: Josh Rice, Jr., Vernonia

RB: Luke Goozee, Sr., Knappa

RB: Tristan Bennett, Sr., NKN

WR: Josh Elinsky, Sr., NKN

WR: Kanai Phillip, Jr., Knappa

WR: Sakari Haynes, So., PC

OL: Jaxson Goodman, Jr., Knappa

OL: Travis Bennett, So., NKN

OL: Tucker Champ, Sr., NKN

OL: Mark Warren, Jr., Warrenton

OL: Josh Seals, Sr., Nestucca

First Team Defense

DL: Travis Bennett, So., NKN

DL: Jaxson Goodman, Jr., Knappa

DL: Sam Irwin, So., Warrenton

DL: Isaac Goozee, So., Knappa

LB: Josh Rice, Jr., Vernonia

LB: Tristan Bennett, Sr., NKN

LB: Spencer Teague, Jr., Knappa

LB: Devin Jackson, Jr., Warrenton

DB: Kanai Phillip, Jr., Knappa

DB: Jacob Morrow, Jr., Warrenton

DB: Max Fox, Sr., Gaston

DB: Ben Hurliman, Jr., Nestucca

Special Teams

K: Kenz Ramsey, Jr., Warrenton

P: Gunnar Harral, Jr., Vernonia

Returner: Josh Rice, Jr., Vernonia

Knappa, Warrenton selections

Second Team Offense

RB: Devin Jackson, Jr., Warrenton

WR: Cameron Miethe, So., Knappa

WR: Giovanni Martinez, Sr., Warrenton

OL: Isaac Goozee, So., Knappa

OL: Kale’o Kapua, Sr., Warrenton

Second Team Defense

LB: Joe Ramvick, Jr., Knappa

DB: Devin Hoover, So., Knappa

DB: Cameron Miethe, So., Knappa

Special Teams

Returner: Hordie Bodden Bodden, Fr., Warrenton

Honorable Mention Offense

QB: Jacob Morrow, Jr., Warrenton

WR: Devin Hoover, So., Knappa

WR: Austin Little, Jr., Warrenton

OL: Dominic Rizzo, Sr., Knappa

Honorable Mention Defense

DL: Tristan Scott, So., Warrenton

DL: Mark Warren, Jr., Warrenton

DL: Kaleb Roe, Jr., Knappa

DB: Tyler Green, Sr., Knappa

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.