KNAPPA - The Knappa Loggers hosted their first and only cross country league meet of the season Thursday and took advantage by winning the boys' team title.

Led by Nick Jacobson's first-place effort, the Loggers took six of the top eight spots and finished with 20 points, to Neah-Kah-Nie's 54 for second. Warrenton, Portland Lutheran and Vernonia also competed.

Jacobson ran 19:10 minutes, out-kicking teammate Toivo Fransen, who took second in 19:17.

Moving up the ladder is Brentin Salisbury, who placed fourth in 19:35, followed by Curtis Olds (fifth, 19:49), Brad Salisbury (seventh, 20:00) and Blake Gerttula (eighth, 20:11).

Also running for the Loggers were Steven Maki (14th, 21:24), Paul Isom (19th, 21:45) and Matt Acuna (33rd, 24:39).

Warrenton's Sam Higgins was 17th in 21:38, and teammate Derek Danzl took 41st in 31:59.

Portland Lutheran (71) and Vernonia (79) also had complete teams.

There were only two complete teams on the girls' side, with Neah-Kah-Nie (28) narrowly defeating Portland Lutheran (29).

Portland-Waldorf's Hannah Rowley won in 22:30, while Warrenton's Rebecca Fisk was third in 24:00.

The Warriors' Janessa Gramson was 15th in 29:25, and Jennifer Lampert was 25th in 38:52.

Knappa was led by Amanda Nichols (8th, 25:56), with Kirsty Coghill (12th, 28:25), Melanie von Weitershausen (16th, 30:33) and Annika Siegmann (21st, 32:14) also running.

Knappa runs Tuesday at Oregon Episcopal.

Ilwaco sweepsCATHLAMET, Wash. - The Ilwaco cross country machine picked up two more victories Thursday afternoon as the Fishermen boys and girls both won team titles in a six-team meet at Wahkiakum.

Ilwaco's Derek Duffy took first in the boys' race, finishing in 17 minutes, 53 seconds, helping the Fishermen finish with 23 points.

Naselle was fifth with 136. The Comets were led by Evan Hendrickson's 22nd place finish in 21:42. Also running for Naselle was Keegan McGuire (31st, 24:43), Spencer Griss (32nd, 25:33), Garrick Bennett (33rd, 25:41) and Aoy Marion (34th, 26:37).

Ilwaco won the girls' team title with 21 points, with Naselle second at 34.

Woodland's Tara Ward won the race in 20:29, with Ilwaco's Erin Knick third in 23:34.

Erin Saari paced Naselle with a fifth-place finish in 24:40, followed by Jenny Klinger (9th, 26:06), Annie Herrold (10th, 26:43), Katie Klinger (12th, 27:55) and Kristiina Chism (13th, 30:03).

Ilwaco and Naselle compete in Saturday's 3-Course Challenge at Camp Rilea.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.