An eight-week public Safe Boating Class leading to a boater education card will begin at 7 p.m. Tuesday in the Arts Center Building Room 101 at Clatsop Community College. The class will include six weeks of lectures and discussions on safe boating operations, including piloting, required equipment, rules of the road, charts, compass, training an alternate skipper and more. One week will be dedicated to review of state and federal boating regulations, and the final week will be for an exam.
The cost for the class is $ 40 (family members or friends can share the course manual) and $15 for the plotter and divider needed for the course.
Mandatory boater education is now the law, and the boater education card also saves money on boat insurance.
All Oregon boaters need a card to operate or supervise youth operating a boat greater than 10 horsepower. Youth 12 to 15 years old operating a boat with 0 to 10 horsepower and all personal watercraft operators need a card. Boaters can be fined $97 for not having a card.
The state of Washington will issue a card to Washington residents completing this course. Their law states that all boaters younger than 30 years old must have a card.
Experienced boaters and qualified instructors from the Lower Columbia Power Squadron and U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary will teach the course. These organizations have worked jointly instructing this course for more than a decade on the North Coast. The National Association of State Boating Law Administrators also approves this course.
To preregister, contact Ron Collman at (503) 861-1368 or Richard Carruthers at (503) 325-5935.