EUGENE - The best may be yet to come for this year's Astoria boys cross country team.

The Fishermen equaled last year's fourth-place team finish in Saturday's state cross country meet in Eugene, and with no seniors on the roster, Astoria could be one of the favorites to win it all next year.

Siuslaw won the title this year with 45 points, followed by Elmira (98), Wilsonville (119) and the Fishermen (159).

The Astoria boys had no one finish in the top 10, but had enough runners in the middle of the pack to finish fourth in the team standings.

Ian MacDougall (32nd, 17 minutes, 42 seconds) was Astoria's top runner, followed by Jonnie Dunne (34th), John Wilson (38th), Drew Gustafson (45th) and Shaun Barrick (84th). Also running were Ben Lilley (89th) and Skyler Butenshon (102nd).

Seaside's Joe Gardner placed 59th in 18:22.

Siuslaw also won the 3A girls' team title with 71 points. Cowapa League champion Scappoose (201) was eighth.

Individual 3A winners in the meet were Holli Dieu of Coquille and Scott Sanders of Brookings.

Dieu set a Class 3A record by covering the Lane Community College course in 18:18, beating the previous 3A best of 18:33 set by Philomath's Brianna Anderson-Gregg last year.

Dieu's time is also the third fastest winning time in state history regardless of classification.

See Scoreboard for more state cross country results.

Knappa boys 13thEUGENE - Paced by a 16th-place finish for Curtis Olds, the Knappa boys scored 269 points for 13th in the 2A boys' portion of the state meet Saturday in Eugene.

McKenzie was the team champion with 97 points, and Brad Taylor of Oakridge was the individual winner, covering the LCC course in 16:00 minutes.

District 1 champion Jacob Goertz of North Clackamas was 11th in 17:22.

Other Logger runners included Brentin Salisbury (72nd), Paul Isom (78th), Blake Gerttula (79th), Darin Clayton (89th), Ryan Isom (97th) and Steve Allen (106th).

The 2A girls team title was won by Catlin Gabel, with 74 points. Krista Stangel of Enterprise (19:12) was the individual winner.

Knappa freshman Gretchen George placed 48th in 22:56, and Warrenton was represented by Rebecca Fisk (90th, 25:47).

Ilwaco boys fifthPASCO, Wash. - A strong team from Charles Wright won the 1A boys' team championship Saturday at the Washington state cross country meet in Pasco, Wash.

A 20th place finish by Jordan Williams (17:21) led Ilwaco to a fifth-place showing in the team standings with 111 points.

Charles Wright had 31 to easily win the title over Seattle Academy (73), Highland (104), Newport (109) and the Fishermen.

The individual winner was Alex Crabill of Charles Wright.

Ilwaco's John Hayes finished right with Williams in 17:21, followed by teammates Shaun Peterson (33rd), Dylan Wirkkala (36th) and Scott Fagerland (18:02).

Ilwaco took 12th in the girls' A/B race with 278 points. The team champion was Zillah (58), followed by Cedar Park Christian (147).

Cedar Park's Jane Larson was the individual winner in 19:01, while Erin Knick (30th, 21:11) was Ilwaco's top finisher.


Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.