Ilwaco's Anthony Wirkkala was selected as a first team all-league utility player for the Southwest Washington 1A Trico Division baseball, completing his year as a first team selection in football, basketball and baseball.

Teammates Paul Blaylock (second base) and Alex Martin (outfield) were named to the second team, while outfielder Jordan DeSimone, infielder Ryan Garcia and catcher Trevor Couch were selected honorable mention.

Player of the Year was Rochester pitcher/shortstop Justin Eastman and Coach of the Year was Rochester's Jerry Striegel.

In SWW 1A softball, Castle Rock pitcher Lindsey Melton was named Offensive Player of the Year, and La Center freshman pitcher Mariah Dawson was Defensive Player of the Year.

Ilwaco had two second-team selections (Lanie Kary, SS; Emily Thorne, OF), and one honorable mention (Tara Hankins, 3B).


Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.